Tuesday, 9 October 2012

ASA physical status classification system

ASA = American Society of Anesthesiologists

Class 1: A normal healthy patient.
Class 2: A patient with mild systemic disease.
Class 3: A patient with severe systemic disease.
Class 4: A patient with severe systemic disease that is a constant threat to life.
Class 5: A moribund patient who is not expected to survive without the operation.
Class 6: A declared brain-dead patient whose organs are being removed for donor purposes.

If the surgery is an emergency, the physical status classification is followed by "E" (for emergency), for example "3E". Class 5 is usually an emergency and is therefore usually "5E".


  • Anesthesia: To indicate a patient's overall physical health or "sickness" preoperatively
  • General: To predict risk, and thus decide if a patient should have–or should have had–an operation.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Any thoughts...?